Knox County Public Library Foundation

The Knox County Public Library Foundation is a nonprofit entity created to collect, invest, and distribute funds donated for the improvement of the Knox County Public Library.

Established in 2006, the Library Foundation is committed to maintaining a strong public library — a necessity for a healthy and vital community.

Board of Directors

Jeff Johnson, President
Linda Gay Blanc, Vice President
Lois Ross, Secretary
Willard Carr, Treasurer
Kristie Atwood
Miranda Clark
Ginna Mashburn
Jerome Miller
Angelia Nystrom
Claire Serrell
Rusha Sams
Julie Webb

Ex Officio

Myretta Black, Library Director
Mary Pom Claiborne, Library Liaison
John Smartt, Jr., Friends of the Library Liaison
Nancy Peterson, Advisory Board Liaison
Diana Samples
Neill Albers Townsend

Library Foundation Projects

The Margaret Dickson Fund was created through a bequest from Margaret Dickson, a beloved children’s librarian who served families at Lawson McGhee Library for more than 40 years. This fund makes possible the Library’s Saturday Stories & Songs program, a free storytime series that features special musical guests such as WDVX’s Sean McCollough, professional storyteller Faye Wooden, world traveler Georgi Schmitt, and many other performers. The Foundation has granted the program more than $30,000 over three years.

From Papers to Pixels, a project to digitize the Knoxville News Sentinel from 1922–1990, was completed in 2016. A fully searchable, digitized archive now brings the special past of Knoxville and the state of Tennessee to life for all subsequent generations. To access the database, visit

From Papers to Pixels Donors


  • Knox County Commission
  • Clayton Family Foundation
  • Pete and Linda Claussen
  • Jane L. Pettway Foundation
  • Rich and Jane Ray


  • Haslam Family Foundation
  • Joe Sullivan


  • Friends of the Knox County Public Library
  • Home Federal Bank


  • Dr. Jeff Chapman
  • The Honorable Dwight and Gloria Kessel
  • Knoxville News Sentinel
  • Lawson McGhee Library Legacy Board


  • Mayor and Mrs. Victor Ashe
  • Linda Gay Blanc & Marshall Peterson (in honor of Betty Gay Blanc)
  • Randy and Jenny Boyd
  • Joe Clayton
  • Maureen Dunn and Neil McBride
  • First Tennessee Foundation
  • Sampson Foundation
  • Sam and Mary Ann Venable (in memory of longtime librarian Eva Venable)
  • Virginia Rogers Foundation
  • Tim Williams


  • Ann Bond
  • Jenny Hines
  • Hobson-Wood Foundation
  • Jeff and Evelyn Johnson
  • Raja Jubran
  • Sharon and Joe Pryse
  • Dr. Bill Snyder
  • The Trust Company


  • Ginger Browning
  • Betsey Bush
  • Willard and Fay Carr
  • Kevin and Chelly Clayton
  • The Ladies Luncheon and Support Group
  • Jack and Amy Lail
  • L.A.M.P. Foundation
  • Sherri Parker Lee
  • Bob and Ginna Mashburn
  • John and Lillian Mashburn
  • Tom and Melissa McAdams
  • Harry Moskos
  • Bill Rukeyser
  • Kenneth and Patra Rule
  • Mr. and Mrs. Arthur G. Seymour, Jr.
  • John and Paula Smartt
  • John and Wanda Sobieski
  • Councilman Marshall Stair
  • Sarah Stowers
  • Jim Tumblin, O.D.
  • Andy Venable (in memory of longtime librarian Eva Venable)
  • Frank and Jane Venable (in memory of longtime librarian Eva Venable)
  • Julie Webb
  • Y-12 Federal Credit Union


  • Stephen Lyn Bales
  • Tom Benton
  • Sandi Burdick and Tom Boyd
  • Maggie Carini
  • Mary Pom Claiborne (in honor of Bebes Claiborne)
  • Steve Cotham
  • County Commission District 6 and Commissioner Brad Anders
  • Charlie and Patsy Daniel
  • Melinda Davis
  • East Tennessee Historical Society
  • Michael and Sally Ehrhardt
  • Don and Suzanne Freeman
  • Natalie Haslam
  • Dr. Judith Kinzy
  • Knoxville City Council
  • Phillip Lawson
  • Judy Loest
  • McCarty Holsaple McCarty
  • Jack McElroy
  • McMaster Enterprise, Inc.
  • Cynthia Moxley and Alan Carmichael
  • National Society of the Colonial Dames of America
  • Harry and Amy Ogden
  • Margaret Page
  • John Peterson
  • Diana Samples
  • Susan Seagraves and W. Judson Shaw
  • John Z.C. Thomas
  • Karen and Orlan Yarbro


  • Edward S. “Bud” Albers
  • Jim Blair
  • Commissioner Mike Brown
  • Kathy and John Buckingham
  • Lisa Carroll
  • Miranda and Jon Clark
  • Caroline Cooley
  • Anne and Greg Curtin
  • Jeannie Dulaney
  • George and Barbara Dyer
  • Pam Fansler
  • Arlene Garrison
  • Felicia Hoehne
  • Joe Horner
  • Daniel Hurst
  • Dr. Joe E. Johnson
  • Joe L. Johnson
  • Stephen and Carol Krauss
  • Mark and Cathy Mamantov
  • David and Sandy Martin
  • Ken and Brenda Mills
  • Scott Moore
  • Gregory O’Connor
  • George and Dr. Molly Peeler
  • Candra Phillips
  • Andie Ray
  • Willa and David Reister
  • Chris and Robin Rohwer
  • Sara Rose
  • James Schmid
  • Celia Shanks
  • John Slaten
  • John and Linda Tanner
  • Peggy and Ron Turner
  • Georgiana Vines
  • Susan Williams
  • Dr. Donna Winn
  • Diana Wolfram and Sue Sewing
  • County Commissioner Dave Wright
  • Elaine Zeanah

Contact the Library Foundation

Knox County Public Library Foundation
500 W. Church Ave.
Knoxville, TN 37902
(865) 215-8713

Download a copy of the Library Foundation’s Form 990 here.