Upcoming Events

  • Books Sandwiched In: The Black and the Blue: A Cop Reveals the Crimes, Racism, and Injustice in America’s Law Enforcement — Wednesday, February 27, noon MORE>>
  • The Book Behind My Story: The Alchemist — Thursday, February 28, 6 p.m. MORE>>
  • Burlington Branch Sale — Friday, March 1, and Saturday, March 2, 1–5 p.m. MORE>>
  • All Over the Page: The Library Book — Monday, March 11, 6:30 p.m. MORE>>
  • Tennessee Library Legislative Day — Tuesday, March 12 MORE>>
  • Wilma Dykeman Stokely Memorial Lecture with author Silas House — Thursday, March 14
  • EveryLibrary 2019 in Knoxville (practical strategies for library advocacy) — Monday, March 18 MORE>>
  • Books Sandwiched In: The Cure for Catastrophe: How We Can Stop Manufacturing Natural Disasters — Wednesday, March 27, noon
  • Annual Used Book Sale — Saturday, March 30, through Tuesday, April 2 MORE>>
  • Farragut Branch Sale — Friday, April 5, and Saturday, April 6, 10 a.m.–5 p.m. MORE>>
  • National Library Week: Libraries = Strong Communities — April 7–13
  • All Over the Page: In the Kingdom of Men — Monday, April 8, 6:30 p.m.
  • Books Sandwiched In: Saudi America: The Truth About Fracking and How It’s Changing the World — Wednesday, April 24, noon
  • Tennessee Library Association Annual Conference: Opening Hearts, Doors, Minds — April 24–26 MORE>>
  • Halls Branch Sale — Friday, April 26, and Saturday, April 27, 10 a.m.–5 p.m. MORE>>
  • Howard Pinkston Branch Sale — Thursday, May 2, and Saturday, May 4, 10 a.m.–5 p.m. MORE>>
  • All Over the Page: Slaughterhouse-Five — Monday, May 13, 6:30 p.m.
  • Children’s Festival of Reading (includes Friends Used Book Sale) — Saturday, May 18, 10 a.m.–3 p.m. MORE>>
  • Home Cookin’ with Author Rick Bragg — Tuesday, May 21
  • Books Sandwiched In: American Prison: A Reporter’s Undercover Journey into the Business of Punishment — Wednesday, May 24, noon
  • Sequoyah Branch Sale: Saturday, June 1, 10 a.m.–5 p.m. MORE>>
  • All Over the Page: The Last Cruise — Monday, June 10, 6:30 p.m.
  • Karns Branch Sale — Thursday, June 13, and Saturday, June 15, 10 a.m.–5 p.m. MORE>>
  • Cedar Bluff Branch Sale —Friday, June 21, and Saturday, June 22, 10 a.m.–5 p.m. MORE>>
  • Bearden Branch Sale — Friday, July 19, and Saturday, July 20, 10 a.m.–5 p.m. MORE>>
  • East Tennessee History Fair (includes Friends Used Book Sale) — Saturday, August 17 MORE>>
Get Our News!

FriendsKCPL shares news, announcements, and stories about what Friends and the Knox County Public Library are doing in the community. The Used Book Gazette keeps readers up to date about the Annual Used Book Sale, Branch Sales, and other special sales throughout the year. Sign up for these free electronic newsletters to stay in the loop about programs, book sales, and other events.

Best of Friends is our member newsletter about events, volunteers, advocacy, sales and more. Join Friends and receive every issue.

View the newsletter archive.

Photo Credit: Friends-sponsored author visits, such as that of Jon Meacham (shown here with Governor Bill Haslam) on President’s Day 2013, contribute to the cultural vibrancy of our community. Photographer: Jack E. Williams